Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers

Directed By Peter Jackson

PG-13Fantasy / New Line Cinema / Dec 18, 2002

Considered by millions throughout the world to be the greatest adventure ever told, J.R.R. Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings trilogy chronicles the epic struggle for possession of the infamous One Ring. If returned to its creator, the Dark Lord Sauron, The Ring will give him the power to enslave the world.

New Line Cinema presents The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers, the central film in Peter Jackson’s motion picture trilogy, an epic adventure of good against evil set in a time of uncertainty in the land of Middle-earth, scheduled to open December 18, 2002. The trilogy represents an unprecedented undertaking – three films made simultaneously over a year and a half of production. The first film in the trilogy, The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring, was released December 19, 2001, to widespread critical acclaim and garnered $860 million worldwide. The film was nominated for 13 Academy Awards®, more than any other film released that year, and won four, including Best Visual Effects for the groundbreaking techniques used by Jackson and the visual effects team to fully realize Tolkien’s universe.

At the end of part one, following the death of Boromir (Sean Bean) and Gandalf’s plunge into the pit at Khazad-dûm, The Fellowship was forced to divide. Though splintered into three groups, each member of the original Fellowship is no less determined in his heroic quest.

The cast includes Christopher Lee, Elijah Wood, Ian McKellen, Ian Holm, Cate Blanchett, Sean Astin, Sean Bean, Billy Boyd, Orlando Bloom, Dominic Monaghan, Viggo Mortensen, John Rhys-Davies, Andy Serkis, Liv Tyler, Hugo Weaving, Karl Urban and Miranda Otto.

Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers won 2 Oscars at the
2003 Academy Awards