Movie Reviews

'Get the Gringo' Movie Review (2012)

On demand is where it belongs, if anywhere

Get the Gringo movie review
Mel Gibson in Get the Gringo
Photo: 20th Century Fox

Fox is making the right move going the video-on-demand route with the "waiting in the wings" Mel Gibson feature Get the Gringo, which is currently playing On Demand following a one night theatrical run back in mid-April. The film would actually be best suited for a direct-to-video release, but with the growing On Demand market this could prove to be a successful decision despite the actor's continued public image issues.

'Get the Gringo'
Review
Grade: C-

Get the Gringo"Get the Gringo" is a Fox Home Entertainment release, directed by and is rated R for strong bloody violence, pervasive language, some drug use and sexual material.

The cast includes , , , , and .

For more information on this film including pictures, trailers and a detailed synopsis .

Gibson co-wrote, produced and self-financed this $20 million picture, which is quite a high number considering Gibson is the film's lone star. On top of that, it's not as if first time feature director and fellow writer, Adrian Grunberg, demands much payment as he moves to the big leagues after years of first assistant and second unit duties on films such as Master and Commander and Jarhead. As far as first time features go, this seems about right.

Set in a Mexican prison, Gibson plays a man with no name, or at least no confirmed name as we're first introduced to his character wearing a clown mask, driving a getaway car with his equally masked accomplice bleeding in the back seat. The chase ends with him crashing through a border fence, landing on the other side, his partner dead and he's taken away in shackles by the Mexican police, intent on keeping the $2 million they found in the back seat, disposing of the dead body and shuffling Gibson off to jail.

The prison he's assigned actually turns out to be a damn near self-sustaining city of its own with an upper and middle class of criminal (modeled after Tijuana's El Pueblito), complete with bathrobe wearing muckety mucks up top and the disheveled worker bees below. Gibson, in the process of trying to find his way, gets involved with a 9-year-old kid (Kevin Hernandez who was pretty good in the comedy The Sitter and is here too) who has a grievance with the prison's big dog, Javi (Daniel Gimenez Cacho), for reasons I don't need to spoil here.

Gibson's character, referred to as Driver in the press notes, is eventually targeted by the really bad guys, which is when he works a few connections to stir things up. Guns are fired, CG blood begins to flow, grenades explode, illegal operations take place and, well, things happen that feel all too routine to really get too excited about.

There is little to talk about that necessarily stands out. This feels like any other R-rated violent feature you'd expect from the likes of Jason Statham and it isn't really all that violent as $20 million apparently can't buy you very good CG blood effects, but it does allow you to put together a decent set. The highlight, in fact, may be the set design, but the overall project is quite disposable.

As cliche as it is, Gibson appears to finally be getting "too old for this s**t". Get the Gringo is being pushed as a return to the actor's more R-rated efforts from Lethal Weapon to Payback, but the electricity isn't there. Instead I see a tired old man as the lines carved into Gibson's face are looking more weathered than ever and the fire behind those eyes isn't burning as bright as it once did. He's still got the goods in him, but this film doesn't appear to have drawn it out of him.

As the lone star of the picture a lot falls on Gibson's shoulders to carry it, but neither his performance, nor the character demands much of your attention and the bad guys are such stereotypical cardboard cutouts they aren't offering much, if anything. Peter Stormare as one of the film's baddies must have been on set for a solid 45 minutes to shoot his five minutes worth of footage and Bob Gunton spent more time warning Andy Dufresne to turn the music off than he spends on screen in this film.

Get the Gringo just isn't theatrical material, though after the dreadful box-office misfire The Beaver, Fox is likely taking the appropriate route, beaming it into people's homes and skipping the cinema altogether. As a direct-to-video/at-home watch this is perfect, mindless fodder for a late night, but that's where it ends.

GRADE: C-
Thanks for Reading! Join the Community!
Support the Site! Make it Faster! No Ads!

Your support goes a long way in ensuring RopeofSilicon.com stays stable. For less than the price of one small popcorn, you can can help support RopeofSilicon and, in turn, visit the site every day without ads! Including this one!

Subscribe Now!

More Movie Reviews

'Listen Up Philip' (2014) Movie ReviewC+

Listen Up Philip (2014)

'Force Majeure' (2014) Movie ReviewB+

Force Majeure (2014)

'John Wick' (2014) Movie ReviewB

John Wick (2014)

'Stonehearst Asylum' (2014) Movie ReviewD+

Stonehearst Asylum (2014)

Click to Browse Even More Reviews
  • jack cook

    What a pathetic critique. I saw it and thought it was a great movie, at least an 8 out of 10.

    • M.M

      Agree with you a 100 percent.

  • http://cineenuruguay.blogspot.com Driver

    I didnt have high hopes, but this kind of kills it. Guess Im going to wait for it on TV... maybe.

    • http://cineenuruguay.blogspot.com Driver

      Or maybe...
      I can watch The Dark Knight, best movie ever made!!!

      • Christopher Robin Meade

        Alright kids sorry to "wreck" the parade here but this joke has went well beyond it,s sell-by date

  • Ann Johnson

    Other reviews have been really good. Think I'll go with jack cook's one-liner and see Get The Gringo.

  • adu

    Hmmm...I still might give it a shot...I hope Gibson has at least one more good movie left in him.

  • Cranberry

    WHAT A PATHE4TIC ATTEMPTS TO KIL THAT GREAT MOVIE! THEMAIN CARACTER IS SUPPSED TO LOK THAT WAY IDDIOT.
    AND MEL GIBS WAS UNDER EXTORTION AND UNDER THE THREAT TO HAVE DIGITALY TAMPERED AND EDITED PRIVATE PHONE RECORDINGS BEING RELEASED AT ANYTIME FORM FEBRUARY 20 TO JUNE 2012 WHEN THAT MOVIE WAS SHOT.. the accusations fell on the last week of the shooting btw so keep your smart arzse for yourself.

    tHE MOVIE IS REALLY GOOD AND TO RELEASE IT ON DEMAND WAS A DELIBERATE CHOICE.

    AS FOR THE BEAVER, IT WAS AN INDIE MOVIE, AND THOSE IN CHARGRE OF DISRTRIBUTING IT SABOTAGED IT. THEY ANNOIUNCEDIT SRELASED WELL IN ADVANCE WITH ALL JODIE FOSTERS INTERVIREWS BASED ON THAT DATE, AND THEN CHANGED THAT DATE A WEEK BEFORE WITHOUT MAKING ANY ADD ON IT EXCEPT A SMALL LINE ON IMDB!!

    THEN IT WAS ONLY RELEASED IN 20 THEATERS, WHICH WASNT ANOUNCED IN ADVANCE BUT ONLY A WEEK BEFORE IT!

    MOST POEPLE COULDNT SEE IT CAUSE IT WAS TOO FAR FROM WHERE THEY LIVED AND EBCASUE AT THE TIME OF THE RELEASE MSOT MOVIE THEATERS WHERE SHOING 3 BLOCKBUSTERS IN 3D.. AT THE SAME TIME..

    SCUSE ME BUT YOU CANT SELL AN INDIE MOVIE IN THOSE CONDITIONS.
    had it been advertised the same way bit show in all theaters as announced and no last minute change of the premiere that moive wil ahve sold a lot cause it was awaited by many.

    Mel Gibson's performance on the beaver was estonishing and should have got an oscar.

    Thats what they thought in cannes btw...
    the movie was outside the competition and i read the french media who said that it should have been in as it was worthy of the Palme d'Or!

    With the kind of trash media Mle gibson has been forced to enfure for so lng without reasons, buit those created by the medias, i dotnsee how he can even havbe the ehad to work and amke a movie!
    but he does so and do it perfectly and estoundingly!

    That movie has already been celebrated as a super action movie by all critics, and monster critic who is usualy very negativ on Mle Gibson has only positiv things to say about that movie and clebrate Mle Gibson's acting in it.

    scuse em but YOU are too old for this shit and too used to spit on others.
    beat the dead horse all you needd to get yoru own frustration out, but you are beating the wrong carpet dude,cause Mel Gibson is standing and alive, still making the Viking movie, still directing the Maccabee movie, and got 3 contracts for coming movies in 3 different movies in 2 days.

    the offer came form people in the industry who know what they are talking about..

    Not to mention the fact that Mle Gibson chosed that way of distributing the movie exactly because of the boycott and sabotage he was the victim of, and jodie foster too, last eyar, when the distribution compnay did this to him.. in worse a distribution company who was his own until Novemebr 07, 2009, when he sold it to a russian oligarch, close frriend of Warner bros director,... who you can imagine never coped with the fact that Mle gibson was going solo all the way, also competing the distribution marked wiht them both in the USA and internationaly, with centers in London, austrralia and hong kong..
    well Mel Gibson met oksana a month after the aquisition of a music recording studio in august 2008.. and she said she was pregnant 4 months after he bought the movie distribution company, in novemebr 2008.
    It cant be accidental.

    You dont know what is going on backstage, and you dont know what you are talking about.

    Mel Gibson is the absolute best actor ever and best director existing.
    He has both the talent and the mind and the visions.
    Therefor he is a dangerous competitor to have and a sure winner on his fields.. so they ressorted to low hits.

    Mel Gibson can take upon any acting and any genre and could do so from a very early stage, and you beleived it, you just bopught his caracter immediatly.
    he is also the alone wone that did 4 back to back movies a year for several years.
    He did bird on a wire, Gallipoli, Hamlet, and The Bounty the same year.
    No actor is able to do that, and to deliver so royaly and convincingly each of those character, no matter how different they are, in such a short laps of time.

    Mel Gibson rule!
    and your critic suck.

    I agree with Jack Cook.

  • Cranberry

    WHAT A PATHETIC ATTEMPTS TO KILL THAT GREAT MOVIE!

    THE MAIN CARACTER IS SUPPOSED TO LOOK THAT WAY.

    AND DONT FORGET THAT MEL GIBSON WAS UNDER EXTORTION AND UNDER THE THREAT TO HAVE DIGITALY TAMPERED AND EDITED PRIVATE PHONE RECORDINGS BEING RELEASED AT ANYTIME, FROM FEBRUARY 20 TO JUNE 2010, WHEN THAT MOVIE WAS SHOT..

    The accusations fell on the last week of the shooting btw So IT set things in perspective.

    THE MOVIE IS REALLY GOOD AND TO RELEASE IT ON DEMAND WAS A DELIBERATE CHOICE.

    AS FOR THE BEAVER, IT WAS AN INDIE MOVIE, AND THOSE IN CHARGE OF DISRTRIBUTING IT SABOTAGED IT.
    THEY ANNOUNCED ITS RELASE WELL IN ADVANCE, WITH ALL JODIE FOSTER'S INTERVIEWS BASED ON THAT DATE, AND THEN CHANGED THAT DATE A WEEK BEFORE, WITHOUT MAKING ANY ADD ON IT EXCEPT A SMALL LINE ON IMDB!!

    THEN IT WAS ONLY RELEASED IN 20 THEATERS, WHICH WASN'T ANNOUNCED IN ADVANCE, BUT ONLY A WEEK BEFORE IT!

    MOST PEOPLE COULDN'T SEE IT CAUSE IT WAS TOO FAR FROM WHERE THEY LIVED, AND BECAUSE AT THE TIME OF THE RELEASE MOST MOVIE THEATERS WHERE SHOWING 3 BLOCKBUSTERS IN 3D.. AT THE SAME TIME..AND DINT SHOW THE BEAVER CONTINUALY EVEN WITHIN THE 20 THEATERS..

    SCUSE ME BUT YOU CANT SELL AN INDIE MOVIE IN THOSE CONDITIONS.

    Had it been advertised the same way but show in all theaters, as announced, and no last minute change of the premiere, that movie wil have sold a lot cause it was awaited by many.

    Mel Gibson's performance on The Beaver was estonishing and should have got an oscar.

    Thats what they thought in Cannes btw…
    The movie was outside the competition, and I read the french media interviewing member of the festival and jury, who said that it should have been in as it was worthy of the Palme d'Or!

    With the kind of trash media Mel Gibson has been forced to endure for so long without reasons, but those created by the medias, I dont see how he can even have the mind to work and make a movie!
    But he does so, and do it perfectly and estoundingly!

    That movie has already been celebrated as a super action movie by all critics, and monster critic who is usualy very negativ on Mel Gibson has only positiv things to say about that movie and celebrate Mel Gibson's acting in it.

    scuse me but YOU are too blinded/onesided for this, and too used to spit on others.
    Beat the dead horse all you need to get your own frustrations out, but you are beating the wrong carpet dude, cause Mel Gibson is standing and alive, still making the Viking movie, still directing the Maccabee movie, and got 3 contracts for coming movies in 3 different movies in 2 days.

    The offers came from people in the industry, who know what they are talking about..

    Not to mention the fact that Mel Gibson chosed that way of distributing the movie exactly because of the boycott and sabotage he and jodie foster were the victim of,last year, when the distribution company did this to him..

    In worse a distribution company who was his own until November 07, 2009, when he sold it to a russian oligarch, close friend of Warner bros director,who bboth bouhgt a recording studio too, who you can imagine never coped with the fact that Mel Gibson was going solo all the way, also competing against WB on the distribution marked both in the USA and internationaly, with centers in London, Australia and Hong Kong..

    It is in that light interesting to note that Mel Gibson met oksana in septemebr 2008, a month after Mel Gibson's aquisition of a music recording studio in August 2008.. and she said she was pregnant 4 months after he bought the movie distribution company, in November 2008.
    - It cant all be a coincidence.

    You dont know what is going on backstage, and you dont know what you are talking about.

    Mel Gibson is the absolute best actor ever and best director existing.

    He has both the talent and the mind and the visions.
    Therefor he is a dangerous competitor to have, and a sure winner on his fields.. so some big actors in the industry ressorted to media manipulations and low means. Coups bas.

    Mel Gibson can take upon any acting in any genre, and could do so from a very early stage, with a super credible acting.
    You just beleived in his caracter immediatly. he was the person he was impersonating.

    He is also the alone actor that did 4 back to back movies a year for several years.
    He did Bird on a Wire, Gallipoli, Hamlet, and The Bounty the same year.
    No actor is able to do that, and to deliver so royaly and convincingly each of those character, no matter how different they are, in such a short laps of time.

    Mel Gibson rule!
    But your critic of him and of his movie suck.

    I agree with Jack Cook.

    • John

      It was one person's opinion. Your english sucks, your spelling sucks and ANYBODY that goes on that big of a angry meandering rant about a on demand video is a complete idiot. You have not helped the film or Mel Gibson in any way. Nice avatar. The closest you'll ever get to anything like it. Loser.

      • Cranberry

        Are you trying to adress me??

        What is wrong with my spelling?
        You own me an apology.. try to look above your own post...

        Angry? Meandering? rant? Where?
        Please stop projecting your own failures on me.

        There is no on demand video, this is a movie critic.

        I can see that you like generalisations.
        Do you also have prejudices?

        Yes I have totaly helped the movie and Mel Gibson, and you are the living prove of it, as what I wrote has moved you enough to push you to write a very passionate and violent comment here, who isn't about the movie nor its critic, but who is about me, and me solely.
        It spared them both from your venom.

        To answer your open question, the closest I get to MY ass, is with both my hands.

        Too bad for you, you are too far from being my type for you to have a chance at it, and that knowing it, you therefor spit your jealous venom at it.

        I disagree with the conclusion of your violently agressive rant, who just proved that the loser is you.

        Read your comment, but this time remmember that I am not your mirror...
        ROFLMAO!

        I also collected this for you:

        "~ PLEASE NOTE ~
        If, in any way, your comment is an attack on the author of this post or a previous commenter, your comment will be deleted without question."

        Just saying...

        PS: About the "one person's opinion"..
        I just checked, and guess what?
        I am one person too!!

        :D

    • markymark

      You sound more like a raving lunatic then your idol, Mel Gibson.

      A Gibber indeed haha!

      • Cranberry

        yes I agree with you that John sounds like a raving lunatic, but I wont say that Mel Gibson is his idol.
        I cant read that in his comment.
        If you were referring to me, I am my own, and Mel Gibson's idol, so you are wrong again.

    • Winchester

      Um, Cranberry - Gallipolli and Bird were made 9 years apart. Even I know that.

      Just sayin'

      • Cranberry

        its 2 sets of 4 back to back movies I was referring to.
        I dotn get you even you allusion. i dont know shit of the movies Mel Gibson made. I am no fan of his. I am only fan of the truth and of facts.

        • Christopher Robin Meade

          Cranberry please, your already five posts in (counting the double-post) and you,ve already worn yourself worse than even "The Dark Knight" so please for the sake of everyone else go jerk off to mel gibson somewhere else thank you

          • Cranberry

            So did other that i didnt adressed, and I am only answering to posts adressed to me, not like you btw..

            Are you the official representant of "everyone else"'s club?
            Since when?
            Can you prove it?
            We like to see some ID, please.

            Let me see... "Christopher Robin Meade", nice name, is your sister sitting next to you?

            Who'se the dark knight?
            Someone I should know? Or one of your close friend?
            Are you a disciple of his?

            I understand that with that kind of set of references, you must have spend most of your life "jerking it off", as you put it.
            - Not on the keyboard, please.

            I have no intention of following your path.
            I've got a life, and a real sex life, not an illusoric one.
            But keep at it, after all it was never proven that this activity shrink the brain's size, while extending the dick's one..

            Which makes me think that you could be projecting, so to speak, when saying that "you,ve already worn yourself worse".
            Beware the keyboard, btw.

            You are not ordering me out of these boards, are you?
            Am I disturbing you in the middle of your workload?

            Just out of morbide curiosity, what were you doing when you read my posts?

          • Christopher Robin Meade

            oh don,t worry my darling i am not perverted at least not like most common people at by the way i am only the mere age of fourteen and as unbelivable as it sounds i am not intrested in a sex life (at least not yet), so cranberry my dear whether your joking or not although my guess is the former please answer this simplistic question do you know the fact yourself?

  • Tamil

    I just feel , the concerned critic did not see the movie well enough or must hate action movie.

    Pathetic critic thats all i can say

  • Winchester

    I think this is getting a theatrical release in the UK under the original title. Trailer is lousy and I was never a Mel Gibson fan even when he was popular.

    Suffice to say, the rants against the review (kudo in particular to Cranberry) are likely to be much better than the film. I can't imagine Cranberry's could possibly be. I liked the extended use of capital letters myself.

    • Cranberry

      I cant understand your english.
      Are you sure about your name?
      You almost fooled me...

  • Highland

    CRANBERRY IS RIGHT!!! MEL GIBSON IS GOD!!! HE MAYBE RACIST, SEXIST, HOMOPHOBIC...BUT I ...UH..I AM TOO! ALL HAIL MEL!!! THE JEWS ARE TO BLAME FOR THIS BAD REVIEW!!!

    • Cranberry

      Dont adress me with such familiarities.
      We didn't grass the little pigs together in the same kibutz.

  • Mr Stark

    Stay Crazy Mad Melvin!

  • Cranberry

    To the crazy commenters here who cant read nor think on their own, nor cant contribute in any way, but are too eager to bash others, and to those eager to insult, and make personal attacks because they are unable to build a solid argumentation and have no arguments to contradic a single thing I said: it is not possible to deleete nor edit a post here, therefor I posted it twice, the second one being corrected. Which the blinds ignored or were totaly unable to see..

    There is no typos in my second post, and if you want to teach in english class, feel free to send your application to the local school, and not to an online blog for movie review.

    Mel Gibson made 4 back to back movies a year, for several years. Which movies he did what year, is of less importance.
    I am not a fanatic. If you want to know which one, go to IMDB. They have the lists.

    Highland, do you have a shred of prove that Mel Gibson is a sexist? Since when?
    Or that he is homophobic???
    To say that you dont want to get f in the ass and dont want to be gay, and that gays f in the arse, are facts, and has nothing to do with being homophobic.
    Only a close minded moron wil say and conclude that.

    An homophobe hate gays, Mel Gibson do not hate gays, he is in fact a very close friends of several gays and lesbians, ditto Mel Gibson is not an homophobe.

    Mel Gibson's brother is gay, and they have always have a very good relationship together, and Mel Gibson was the first to reach out to him when he came out as gay.
    Mel has never said anything negativ to or about his brother, nor criticised his sexuality, nor has treated him differently ever.
    As can be read in Mel Gibson's brother's interview from last year.

    Jodie Foster is also very close to mle Gibson, and is a lesbian, and Mel Gibson and Jodie are best friends and talk a lot together.
    If Mel Gibson was homophobe in any way, I dont think that 1) Jodie will even want to speak to him and
    2) that Mel Gibson will be her best friend.

    Can you prove that Mel gibson is a racist?
    When?
    Where did Mel Gibson ever said anything racist to anyone?
    Never.
    On the contrary facts prove you wrong again.

    A racist do not make movies that he finance himself where all the crew is made of foreigners, nor make movies in original foreign languages, nor build hospital and schools in foreign counties, and make an organisation to give free surgery for poor childrens from all over the world with chronical deseases.

    You are proven wrong.
    Come with facts, not fictions issued by your imagination based on some fancy allegations from the sensationalistic press.

    Only illiterate people consider a rich and informative post to be a rant, solely based on its lenght.

    Your short comments are ranting and raging.

    What I say is usefull, higly condensed, very informative, the result of an analysis contributing highly to enlight the article and its writer on some facts, and presented in the most easy way to be consummed for people like you, who are used to eat predigested fast food on a daily basis.

    But I guess that even there I anticipated too much comprehension habilities from you.

    In that case, just ignore my wise words, and keep eating at your usual fast food join.

    If all you like and can comprehend is to eat sh.it rabiates opinonated blinded views, keep at it. But dont try again to turn it around, as you did above, to blame me for your ignorance.
    Blame instead your leasines and faked arrogance.
    (I still have some hope for you)

    • Kaitlyn

      not that i want to put my hat into this ring in the slightest, but i just want to put out there that are behaviors and attitudes, aka micro-aggressions, that can be just as damaging, if not more, as overt racism. so to say that he's not a racist, heterosexist (which is considered more psychologically appropriate than homophobic as that term insinuates there is something to be phobic of), sexist, etc. just because he hasn't said so explicitly or because he is friends with Jodie Foster, does not mean the things he has said and done are absent of indications of prejudice toward minority individuals. if interested, see link below for an article about these types of aggressions:

      http://www.apa.org/monitor/2009/02/microaggression.aspx

      • Cranberry

        What agressions? You dont even know why he was called homophobic, who was highly incorrect, as for sexist scuse me but Mel Gibson did a movie where he was gay, and he also always respected women. He was married 30 years, had 7 childrens and its him who took care of the kids, made food, cleaned clothes, and did the shoppings. Thats not at all what you will refer as macho type but its opposite. Most of the hatefull adjectives he has been labeled with are based on some of his movies characters like lethal weapon.He is not just friend with Jodie Foster, they are best friends and confidents.. and he has several close friends who are gays. And his brother is gay.. and he is very close to that brother, in fact the closest form the rest of the family.
        I think that should close the debate.
        Do you have a single firend that is gay? A family member?
        Now tell me, how is Mle Gibson supposed to prove that he isnt sexist nor homophobe nor racist with all that?
        Journalists use the word redneck daily in articles, and commenters use it too without problems, and without thinking that its racist, nor generalising, but Mle Gibson use the word wetbacks in a private phone conversation and he is a racist? I will say thaqt its discriminatoric to say so.
        Beside it is important to distinguish between a religious rule and being homophobic.
        The catholic faith says its not ok to have sex with same gender, but didnt say that you have to hate those doing so or reject them.
        And another thing, without the religious part, its not cause you are not gay, that you hate gays!
        And its not cause you cant imagine taking it up the arse that you hate those who do so.
        Mel Gibson said that he couldnt imagine being gay as they take it up the arse, and for that he is an homophobe?
        He made a anatomical description of what being a gay man implies. If some are too fragile to can cope with the description, they just have to admit that they are too political correct, or that they live in denial and cant cope with reality.
        As for gays being offended by that depiction, they have to ask themselves if its not them who are ashame of what they do. Cause if they aren't, whats the problem??
        Mel Gibson said that during an ionterview in Spain for over 20 years ago and thats the alone time he ever said anything about homosexuals. But nonetheless he is stigmatised over it ever since and i would like to ask why.
        Nobody has been able to prove him wrong since tho.
        Gays do take it up the ass.
        and so do heterosexuals...
        of the female gender.
        You cant tell someone whats rigth or wrong, and if Mel Gibson think that he dont like it for himself, thats his choice and his right, and if you dont want to know it dont read it, and if that journalist didnt wanted to know about it he shouldnt have ask. Whats the new law? that we must all agree with all?
        Fine, then you have to agree with Mel Gibson too!
        I found american very sensitive and close minded.

    • Tom Silks

      God I feel pity for you, you must be a little retarded kid that's simply not allowed to do anything so he spends his day writing huge responses to anyone that says anything, making a big deal out of anything. Wow you are truly pathetic and I really ask God to keep you safe and to live a nice life even though you have that sad problem. Take care dude, I really hope you stay alive long.

  • Scott

    I had no idea how passionate someone could be about an actor or a movie until I read this comments. WOW!

    • Scott

      *these

    • Cranberry

      Its call being passionate for the sense of truth and of justice, not for an actor or a movie.

  • Winchester

    This is definitely got to be more interesting than the film. The broken English alone is priceless.

    • Cranberry

      What is your point?
      Wherer is your argument?
      What are your proves?
      I dare you to name one exemple of "broken" english.

      I fluently speak and write 6 languages.
      What about you?

      You made a punctuation and formulation error above.
      You must put a comma after "film", not a point.

      "You know that you have won the argumentation, when your opponent ressort to personal attacks."
      - Bertrand Russel, Basic of Argumentation Theory.

      • Winchester

        Well, I think 'What are your proves' sorta provides an example. You might mean 'What is your proof' or maybe ' where is your proof'. So that would be one.

        And I doubt Russell used the word 'argumentation' (I'm guessing you mean 'argument' at least). So that would be two.

        And if you want to start a new sentence, a comma won't suffice. A full stop is required. I think that covers just your reply. But I wouldn't possibly have the time to go through the rest of them.

        Have fun!

        • Cranberry

          An argumentation is made of arguments you dork!
          The person opposing your argumentation has to be able to come with a contra argumentation and to prove that some of your arguments are faulse.

          Go get educated.
          And you do not have provided any proofs that any of my arguemnts were wrong.
          All you keep doing is watchig the emballage..
          I guess you like it chineese, but dot care ofr the contain as you cant cope with it, nor are able to display an ounce of analysis comprehension, nor knowledge of facts.

        • Cranberry

          PS:

          ~ Reuter Communiqué Spécial ~

          - You just won the medal of Typo Fascist.

          - STOP -

          I once won the Most Craze Typos Award.

          - NON STOP -

          Some russian readers, 2 of them working for Putin, even thought it was a secret code and kept emailing me.

          There is no London Radio here, but stay put, I can do worse.

          • Winchester

            So, do you get like day release?

          • Winchester

            That reminds me - is it a good medal? A nice looking one? I mean, if I'm going to called a fascist for pointing out the typo's I was asked to I'd like it to be a nice one.

            Something shiny and Black maybe?

  • Danny

    Umm.... So yeah, that was all very entertaining!

    Brad's review of this movie is the most negative, but then again I have only read three reviews for the movie. But whether or not I agree with Brad's reviews of movies, I like reading them as they are usually both informative and entertaining... Regardless of his thoughts on this movie, I still might catch this on OnDemand one night.... I'm still hoping for a come back for Mel Gibson.... Maybe him being the villian in Machete Kills will be a step back into the good graces with audiences....

  • Cranberry

    Nice Danny, but I think that Mel Gibson has no problem what so ever with the audience.
    Its with the media, editors, and mega giants who control an down the media, like Murdoch, that Mel Gibson has problems.
    The tabloid press in particular.

    People are fine with Mel Gibson. They are just very annoyed by the kind of bad press that those media generate on Mel Gibson, all on their own.
    All scandals that they have come up with have proven to be faulse and without prove.
    Like the antisemitic tirade, who never existed, as the video of the arrest show and prove.
    Like the asserted DV, who were proven faulse by the doctor who saw the alledged victim the following day, and with falsified photos, who were droped, and the angey tapes who were proven to have been edited and tampered, and were also taken back by the alledged victim, to avoid ending up in jail for falsification of criminal evidence.
    All data that the same tabloid press took a religious care to keep us uninformed about, or to unveil without admitting how wrong they had been the whole time, at the same time.

    Media do not apologise unless asked to send a dementi, and even there its on page 9, and for tabloids its call never.
    Or tabloids will have to send a dementi in each of their parutions.
    Like each week for all those trash mags claiming that Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt are now leaving each others.

    The way media treat mel Gibson in the past 8 years is a greate clinical case on how media work and make and destroy a person, and on how easily they manipulate the amss, and also on how little protected individuals are, and how little rights they have in face of the media, and how castrated or defensless the justice system is to the media. Scared in fact.
    In USA, the media have infiltrated the justice system and make and end lawsuites, and decide what a judge is going to do.
    Celebrity justice has taken upon a new meaning.
    I have seen the most grotesc situations unfold, and persons lying in court several times, under oath, and presenting faulse witnesses, not being sentenced with the 3-4 years in jail that this kind of crime is usualy sentenced with, and totalty eluding even being charged.
    And in a case where the media were following the case so closely, it was shoking that not a single of them even mentioned this dilema, nor ask why.
    When media are silent on unjustice and malpractice of the law, in a case discussed nationaly, or silent certain central informations and distord facts, the democracy of a the country is in danger of collapsing.
    Or has already evaded the land.

    Those are signs that the nation is sick.
    People know so.
    And they are not going to blame Mel Gibson for it, but the institutions who cause it: The Medias and the Justice departement, and the political authority who should keep an eye on both.

    You think it doesnt matter why? because it involve a movie star?
    And if it was a railway worker, or a teacher, or a politician, or a senator, will it be more serious and more relevant and more important?
    Why?
    Ask yourself why iunjustice and crimes done against Mel Gibson are less relevant issues than if the same crimes were commited against an unknown citizen or a politician.

    If we are all equal in front of the law, and if we are to be judged and treated equally.
    Theoreticaly, the laws and constitution also apply to Mel Gibson.
    In pracsis, he is exempt of beneficing of their protection.
    So that he can be judged for crime he didn't commited, in the court of media, and that court will decide of the outcome of the real court of justice.
    Thats what we all saw.
    We are used to media who debunk political lies and conspiracies, and illegalities.
    Who will debunk media's ditto?

    Thats what is ment by "Look who is talking".

  • Highland

    Cranberry, just shut up. Get off the internet and go kneel in front of your Mel Gibson shrine. And I saw where you tried to call me out on my comment, but I don't feel like reading that "Novel" you posted.

    • Cranberry

      you lost. Are you trying to take form me the rigth of expression and my freedom of speach?
      You sound like a facist.
      of course you wont read, thats part of why you are so ignorant.

  • Sean Fast

    If somebody filmed two actors reciting the comments on this review, sitting in a plain white room with two folding chairs, I'd watch that. I'd watch it before I sat through Get The Gringo...

    • Cranberry

      No worries, we will put Get The Gringo at the entracte.

  • Snicket

    I came here after listening to the podcast, pure gold all around boys! Keep the lolz coming!

    • Lily

      Me too Snicket. Brad's summary doesn't even begin to capture this! Thank god for Cranberry!

      • Cranberry

        You are welcome! LOL

  • Jay

    Excellent flick, Gibson is a stellar performer as usual. The horrible critic obviously has personal reasons for bashing this flick.

  • Sean

    Boy, that escalated quickly.

  • Devo

    That guy trolled you masterfully. I liked get the gringo fyi lol

  • Christopher Robin Meade

    Alright Cranberry, or shall i call you crankleberry. It seems as if you have won this largely witless,pointless,and utterly grotesque battle of the loudmouth. Therefore, from this day forth i shall grant you thy stars and i alas shant be seen thy more. And you and your bountiful relations with this innovative baron named Mel , As i trufully bound to my only holy promise and word, shall rot into ashes at the bottom of the caspian sea never to be found until i am thrown in the dark trenches of the underworld and desecrated forever by thy pretentious defeat at thy hands of such a noble god such as yourself. So it is true i am defeated my day has come goodbye forever til we meet again in the disparate hell known as earth.

  • Sweetberry

    In english please. This isnt modern language but old english.

  • spw

    It is an excellent movie... it got excellent reviews by critics on RT, by users on IMDB and I saw it tonight with wife and it was great movie. And I am not easy to please either.

  • I hate Cranberries

    Cranberry. Your a shithouse twat.

  • http://fogorvosfogaszat.blogter.hu/archive Fogászat 2012 – Fogorvosok

    hi!,I love your writing so much! proportion we keep up a correspondence more about your article on AOL? I require an expert on this area to unravel my problem. Maybe that's you! Looking ahead to see you.

  • E dizzle

    What a babbling freakin weirdo. Get a job. Get a life. Get spell check or proofread numbnuts.
    #just sayin

  • Aj

    *Resort cranberry it is spelt resort.

  • http://ropeofsilicon Dpm

    I never read critics reviews. I go and see the movies that i want to and make up my own mind. I enjoy Mel as an actor. I like the very fact that he is human and has faults. Also he has the guts to keep going. Good onya Mel! You have my tick of approval.